May 1, 2019

Meraux Foundation announces 2019 Scholarships

Awards 60 Scholarships – Academic, Arts, and CTE – to St. Bernard Parish Students

The Arlene and Joseph Meraux Charitable Foundation awarded 60 scholarships to St. Bernard Parish 2019 high school graduates at a ceremony last week. Annually, the Foundation awards 50 scholarships based on academic achievement, four based on artistic accomplishment, and six for vocational-technical school. To date, the Foundation has awarded some 840 scholarships valued at more than $2.6 million.

“It is my great honor to congratulate all the Meraux Foundation Scholars as they begin the next chapter of their lives,” said Rita Gue, the president of the Meraux Foundation. “We support educational initiatives to help put our young people on a pathway to prosperity and prepare the next generation of leaders in St. Bernard Parish.”

In addition to annual scholarships, the Meraux Foundation supports numerous educational initiatives, including having donated the land for the Arlene Meraux Elementary School, sponsoring student events, partnering with Chalmette High School and Nunez Community College on a CTE program, presenting the Mississippi River Delta Institute, and partnering with the LSU AgCenter to produce AgMagic on the River, among others.

The Meraux Foundation Scholars are chosen by an independent committee of educators. 

Meraux Foundation 2019 Academic Scholars:
Hailey Abrams
Paul Alfonso
Sierra Allemand
Jaida Alphonso
Spencer Beck
Dustin Bell
Corrine Billiot
Tiffany Brandt
Hydiya Butler
Ashley Canas
Haylie Creason
Stormie Crowell
Allison Deffes
Aiden Edler
Layla Favalora
India Flowers
Tyler Fogarty
James Frazier
Lexie Guerra
Falyn Hardouin
Holly Harper
Jarnell Hayes
Aseel Jebreel
Christian Kline
Ethan Konnecker
Gabriell Konnecker
Abigale Licciardi
Eryn Loria
Jan Nicole Magundayao
Erica McCormick
Dylan Meredith
Sage Montz
Bao Nguyen
Kaitlyn Nguyen
Megan Nguyen
Daniel Perez
Nicholas Powell
Ronnie Prestenbach
Gage Randazzo
India Rhodes
Mariam Sanogo
Victoria Schaefer
Derek Thompson
Emily Tran
Kayla Tran
Emily Vu
Brian Williams
Hayden Williams
Diana Willoz
Joshua Zaldivar

Meraux Foundation 2019 Arts Scholars:
Amber Allen
Raeann Koehler
Patrick Oliver
Glen Palmisano

Meraux Foundation 2019 CTE Scholars:
Alayna Abadie
Elizabeth Alphonso
Amy Dang
Trevor Hume
Alondra Lombongtare
My Tra

January 9, 2020 Meraux Foundation Recognized with 2020 Friend of Tourism Award
November 22, 2019 Cook-Off for the Coast Presents Nearly $10,000 to Chalmette High School and Nunez Community College
October 30, 2019 Meraux Foundation Presents Bayou Road Balloon Festival
October 21, 2019 International Economic Development Council Honors Meraux Foundation President Rita Gue
June 25, 2019 Meraux Foundation Supports Southeast Louisiana Legal Services
June 22, 2019 Meraux Foundation’s 5th Annual Delta Institute Goes Global